19th Asian Games, Hangzhou 2022: Categorization Of Women’s Category

Asian Games which is also known as Asiad is a continental multisport event held every four years among athletes all over Asia. The Games were regulated by the Asian Games Federation (AGF) from the first games New Delhi in India in 1951, until the 1978 games. Since 1982 games they have been organized by the Olympic Council of Asia (OCA).

Kabaddi sport was included as a discipline in the 11th Asian Games Beijing 1990. Women’s Kabaddi was included at 2010 Asian Games Guangzhou. Indian woman’s team won the Gold Medal of Kabaddi there. In the next Asian Games held at Incheon 2014 Indian team defended their gold medal.

Jakarta Asian Games 2018 were turned out to be revolutionary for the game of Kabaddi. Iran women’s Kabaddi team won the Gold medal there. Indian women’s Kabaddi team had to satisfy on Silver medal there. Hangzhou, China to host the 19th Asian Games.

The Asian Games were inaugurated on 23rd September. Kabaddi matches are scheduled from 2nd to 7th October. All the matches will take place at Xiaoshan Guali Sports Centre Hangzhou, China. Currently all teams have reached Hangzhou & are practising hard for the competition.

In women’s category, 4 teams are categorized into 2 groups i.e. 4 teams in 1 group & 3 teams in 1 group. This is how teams are classified into two pools.

The Categorization Of Women’s Category:

Pool A:

India, Chinese Taipei, Thailand, South Korea

Pool B:

Iran, Bangladesh, Nepal