Indian Probable Team Is Selected For 2nd Junior World Kabaddi Championship

The International Kabaddi is resuming with some of the big Kabaddi tournaments happening in this year. After the South Asian Games 2019, there were no international Kabaddi tournaments conducted.

Since the things are back to normalcy after global Covid pandemic, Kabaddi will go global. The 2nd Junior World Kabaddi Championship Boy’s (Under 20) will take place from 26th February to 5th March.

Kabaddi’s new powerhouse Iran will host the tournament in capital city Tehran. The 1st Junior World Kabaddi Championship was also held at Kish Island, Iran in November 2019.

Iran team had won the Gold medal there while Kenya stood up as a runner up. The tournament has given many talented players to the Iran & other teams which participated there.

Pro Kabaddi League Stars like Mohammadreza Shadlu Chiyaneh, Amirhossein Bastami, Reza Mirbagheri, Haiderali Ekrami from Iran are some of the examples.  

Apart from Iran, Kenya, Pakistan, Bangladesh, Thailand, Srilanka, Chinese Taipei, Denmark, Iraq, Malaysia, Thailand, Azerbaijan, Turkmenistan had taken a part first edition.

Shockingly India did not play the tournament due to their focus on PKL & selections for South Asian Games 2019. However their participation is confirmed for the second edition.

For that matter, a team of 32 Junior Boys players will take place from 23rd January to 12 February at SAI Center, Gandhinagar, Gujarat. From this camp, boys’ team will be selected.

They will represent India at 2nd Junior World Kabaddi Championship. Three coaches are also appointed for this camp.

Probable Boy’s Kabaddi Players for 2nd Junior World Kabaddi Championship:

Sagar Kumar (Bihar), Manjeet (Haryana), Ashish (Haryana), Harshdeep (Sports Authority of India), Lovepreet Singh (Himachal Pradesh), Ankush (Haryana), Raju Kumar Singh (Jharkhand), Rohit Kumar (Haryana), Manas Koley (West Bengal), Antil Himmat (Sports Authority of India), Ajay Kumar (Chandigarh), Ankit (Haryana), Mukesh Kanan (Tamilnadu), Ritik Thakre (Madhya Pradesh), Narender (Haryana), Nitin Singh (Sports Authority of India), Vishal Chahal 9Chandigarh), Kiran BS (Karnataka), Manu (Sports Authority of India), Jai Bhagwan (Rajasthan), Vishal Choudhary (Rajasthan), Yash Dongare (Maharashtra), Vinay (Haryana), Ranbir Singh (Punjab), Shubham (Delhi), Parteek Dahiya (Haryana), Sahil Kumar (Haryana), Yogesh (Haryana), Ashish (Sports Authority of India), Sachin (Haryana), Vijayant (Sports Authority of India), & Abhijeet Malik (Uttar Pradesh).


Sanjeev Baliyan – Arjuna Award Winner

Anup Kumar – Arjuna Award Winner

Ravindra Shetty – Kempegowda Award Winner