Iran supremacy in the PKL 8 auctions

As the world is moving towards normalcy after coronavirus pandemic, Kabaddi activities are getting started like earlier. The second most viewed league of India, Vivo Pro Kabaddi League is all set to commence after a span of two years. The new season will start from 22nd December 2021 in Bengaluru. For this eighth edition of Pro Kabaddi League, the auction was held from 29th to 31st August 2021.

Pro Kabaddi League has given a new identity to India’s truly indigenous game of Kabaddi. The players and the sport got big recognition not only at national but also on international level due to Pro Kabaddi League. This also led to increase in excitement for International tournaments. 2016 Kabaddi World Cup, 2017 Asian Kabaddi Championship, 2018 Kabaddi Masters got huge fans support where Indian team emerged as a winner.

But the biggest revolution took place at Asian Games 2018 when India’s supremacy came to an end as this international event was won by Iran kabaddi team. With this Iran emerged as new Champions in the game of Kabaddi.

In the inaugural seasons of Kabaddi, there used to be hardly 3-4 Iranian players. The likes of Meraj Sheikh, Fazel Atrachali, Hadi Oshtrok, Abolfazl Maghsoudlou were struggling to get place in starting seven with their respective teams. But the tables turned around after few seasons. In PKL 5, we saw how the pair of Fazel Atrachali and Abozar Mohajermighani destroyed their opponents. Farhad Rahimi, Mohsen Maghsodlou showed their spark in the very next season. Mohammad Nabibaksh played a huge role in winning the title for Bengal Warriors in PKL 7.

Talking about this year auction, Mohammadreza Shadloui Chiyaneh got the highest bid of 31 lakh. He will make his PKL debut in this season. Players like Fazel Atrachali, Hadi Tajik and Mohammad Nabibakhsh were retained by their teams U Mumba and Bengal Warriors respectively.

From getting no place in the starting seven to getting retained by teams, from hardly 3-4 players to almost 15 players playing in PKL, Iran kabaddi surely has come a long way. This is a really good sign of Kabaddi is becoming a global sport.

Here is the list of Iranian players who were sold at PKL 8 auctions:

1) Mohammadreza Shadloui Chiyaneh – Patna Pirates (₹31 lakhs)

2) Abozar Mohajer Mighani – Bengal Warriors (₹30.50 lakhs)

3) Hadi Oshtorak – Gujarat Giants (₹20 lakhs)

4) Mohammad Esmaeil Maghsodlou – Haryana Steelers (₹13.2 lakhs)

5) Abolfazl Maghsoudlou – Bengaluru Bulls (₹13 lakhs)

6) Mohsen Maghsoudloujafari – U Mumba (₹12.80 lakhs)

7) Hamid Mirzaei Nader – Haryana Steelers (₹12.10 lakhs)

8) Mohammad Taghi Paein Mahali – U.P. Yoddha (₹12 lakhs)

9) Soleiman Pahlevani – Gujarat Giants (₹11.50 lakhs)

10) Mohammad Amin Nosrati – Jaipur Pink Panthers (₹11 lakhs)

11) Emad Sedaghatnia – Dabang Delhi K.C. (₹10.20 lakhs)

12) Mohammad Malak – Tamil Thalaivas (₹10 lakhs)

12) Amir Hossein Mohammadmaleki – Jaipur Pink Panthers (₹10 lakhs)