PKL 8, Semi Final 1: Patna Pirates Vs UP Yoddha Preview

Vivo Pro Kabaddi League season 8 is underway in Bengaluru. In the first semi-final match, three times champion Patna Pirates will play against UP Yoddha. The winner of this match will play final match on 25th February.

Team Analysis:

Patna Pirates

The team has played 22 matches. There are 16 wins, 5 losses & 1 tie to their name. As the team was table topper in league stage they got qualified for the semi-finals. Skipper Prashanth Kumar Rai, Sachin, Monu Goyat & Guman Singh are playing in the offense. Sachin- Prashanth- Guman raiding trio will be hoping to keep going. The defense including Sunil, Sajin C, Neeraj Kumar & Mohammadreza Chiyaneh is playing well & defending the team. It will be important.

UP Yoddha

The team has played 22 matches. There are 10 wins, 9 losses & 3 tie to their name. They beat Puneri Paltan in the eliminator to reach semi-final. The raiding trio of Pardeep Narwal, Shrikant Jadhav, Mohammad Taghi & Surender Gill is doing well in the raiding. A lot will be dependent on Pardeep-Surender duo. The defense of Skipper Nitesh Kumar, Sumit, Shubham Kumar & Ashu Singh is playing well for the team. Sumit & Nitesh corner duo’s form will be significant.

Key Battle

Mohammadreza Chiyaneh Vs Pardeep Narwal

Patna left corner Mohammadreza Chiyaneh is team’s top defender in this season. He stands second in the top defender’s list. He has scored 81 tackle points in 22 matches. He is leading the team’s defense from the front. His main responsibility will be to stop UP raider Pardeep Narwal. Pardeep is UP’s top raider. He has clinched 184 raid points from 23 games. He is consistently scoring raid points. This battle will be interesting.

Key Players

Sachin, Patna Pirates

As a top raider his performance in raiding is good with 159 raid points from 22 matches.

Surender Gill, UP Yoddha

As a primary raider of UP Yoddha he has done well with 188 raid points in 22 games.

Head To Head in PKL 8

Patna Pirates 1 – 1 UP Yoddha

Match Prediction

Patna Pirates might win the match

Match Timing

The match will be held at 7.30 pm (IST) at Sheraton Grand Bengaluru Whitefield Hotel & Convention Centre Bengaluru.


Star Sports network will broadcast the match. Disney+ hotstar will also broadcast the match online.


Patna Pirates

Prashanth Kumar Rai (Captain), Selvamani K, Monu Goyat, Sachin, Monu, Guman Singh, Mohit, Rajeevsinh Chavan, Rohit, Sandeep, Neeraj Kumar, Shubham Shinde, Sunil, Sajin C, Sourav Gulia, Manish, Sahil Mann, Mohammadreza Chiyaneh, Daniel Odhiambo

UP Yodhha

Nitesh Kumar (Captain), Pardeep Narwal, Shrikant Jadhav, Gulveer Singh, Mohammad Taghi Paein Mahali, Surender Gill, Sahil, Rohit Tomar, James Kamweti, Ankit, Aman, Nitesh Kumar, Sumit, Aashish Nagar, Ashu Singh, Gaurav Kumar, Shubham Kumar, Gurdeep, Nitin Panwar