PKL Season 6: Tamil Thalaivas will look to keep their winning momentum against UP Yoddha

Pro Kabaddi League has begun on a grand note. Tamil Thalaivas started their journey on a winning note whereas U Mumba and Puneri Paltan ended up their encounter on a tie. PKL will have two matches today. In the first match, Puneri Paltan will take on Haryana Steelers. Later on, home team Tamil Thalaivas will be up against the UP Yoddha.

Team Analysis:

Tamil Thalaivas

In today’s match against UP, winning momentum is with the Thalaivas as they have beaten defending champions Patna in the first game of the season. Like last season, skipper Ajay Thakur led from the front scoring the first Super 10 of this season. Surjeet Singh and Jasvir Singh also supported him very well. Manjeet Chhillar and Amit Hooda combo worked for them. Darshan J who did not have a great game last night has a good opportunity to show his spark.

UP Yoddha

Rishank Devadiga, one of the most expensive players of PKL season 6 will start his PKL journey today against the Tamil Thalaivas. Shrikant Jadhav is expected to support him. Prashanth Kumar Rai is also a player who can bring in his magic in the game. In the defense unit, experienced Jeeva Kumar with young Sagar Krishna, Nitin Mavi, and Nitesh Kumar can form a good combination.

Head to head

Both the teams have clashed 4 times in which Tamil has won 2 matches and UP was successful in winning 1 match. Whereas one match was a tie.

Key Battle

Manjeet Chhillar vs Rishank Devadiga

It will not be easy for left raider Rishank to score points when there will be Manjeet in front of him. In the last match against Patna Pirates, Manjeet who normally plays left cover position, went on the left corner whenever Pardeep came for raids. Manjeet and Amit Hooda kept Pardeep quiet until 8 minutes of the first half. As a result, Manjeet was successful in scoring High 5.

Key Players

Surjeet Singh, Tamil Thalaivas 

In the previous match against Patna Pirates, Surjeet supported Ajay Thakur very well by picking 7 raid points.

Shrikant Jadhav, UP Yoddha

Shrikant Jadhav who had a great season 5 will be seen raiding. It will be tough for him to score from Tamil’s defense who has Manjeet Chhillar and Amit Hooda, left-right corner.

Match Timing 

The match will be held at 9 pm (IST) at Jawaharlal Nehru Indoor Stadium, Chennai.

TV Broadcasting 

Star Sports network will broadcast the match. will also broadcast the match online.


Tamil Thalaivas

Ajay Thakur, Sukesh Hegde, Surjeet Singh, Darshan J, Manjeet Chhillar, Jasvir Singh, K Jayasselan, Atul MS, Sunil, Chan Sik Park, Anil Sharma, Abhinandan Chandel, D Gopu, Vimal Raj, Jae Min Lee, Amit Hooda, C. Arun, D Pradap, Rajnish, Anil Kumar, Anand

UP Yoddha

Rishank Devadiga, Prashanth Kumar Rai, Jeeva Kumar, Shrikant Jadhav, Sachin Kumar, Seaong Ryeol Kim, Suleiman Kabir, Narender, Rohit Kumar Choudary, Amit, Bhanu Tomar, Pankaj, Nitesh Kumar, Azad Singh, Nitin Mavi, Vishav Chaudhary, Akram Shaikh, Sagar Krishna