Team Nandurbar clinch State Invitational Kabaddi Championship

Nashik: The birth anniversary of Balasaheb Thackarey was the reason for this state invitational men’s kabaddi championship to be held at Shinde Gao Marathi School’s campus at Nashik. Maharashtra State Kabaddi Association and Nashik District Kabaddi Association with Shri Renuka Foundation saw the organisation of this tournament.

In the penultimate game against NTPS Nandurbar and Sinhagad Pune it was NTPS Nandurbar that clinched victory. Under the captaincy of Dada Avhad Nandurbar took a lead of 13-06 by the half time. With all the players contributing, Nandurbar won the final 27-15. Nandurbar won their third title this season.

In the semi-final, Nandurbar defeated Shivshankar Kalyan by a hefty margin of 30-15. Whereas Sinhgad Pune won a close tie against Om Kalyan with a 26-24 scoreline.

NTPS Nandurbar won a cash prize of 1,00,000 rupees and a trophy whereas runner-ups Sinhagad Krida Mandal, Pune were handed a cash prize of 71,000 rupees and a trophy. Best defender was rewarded to Saurabh Waikar, best raider was awarded to Abhijeet Patil and Man of Tournament was conferred to Dadaso Avhad.


Winner – NTPS Nandubar

Runner-up – Sinhagad Krida Mandal, Pune

Third Place – Shivshankar, Kalyan and Om Kabaddi, Kalyan

Best Defender – Saurabh Waikar (Sinhagad, Pune)

Best Raider – Abhijeet Patil (Om, Kalyan)

Man of Tournament – Dadaso Avhad (NTPS, Nandurbar)