The hard work finally paid off! Kabaddi player Deepak Hooda to receive the Arjuna Award

Today, the final selection of players for this year’s awards in the field of sports has been declared by the Ministry of Sports. This year’s Arjuna Award has been announced for kabaddi player Deepak Niwas Hooda. Along with him, a total of 27 players from other sports will receive the award this year.

Deepak has won gold medals for India in the 2016 World Cup as well as in the 2016 and 2019 South Asian Games. He also won a gold medal from India at the 2018 Dubai Masters in Dubai.

Apart from Deepak, Kabaddi coach Krishna Kumar Hooda will be given the Dronacharya Lifetime Achievement Dronacharya Award. He will be the fifth kabaddi coach to receive the award. Earlier, E Rao, Balwan Singh, Sunil Dabas and Rambir Singh Khokar had received the award.

Gujarat Fortune Giants coach Manpreet Singh will be honoured with the Dhyan Chand Award. He is only the second kabaddi coach to receive this award. Earlier, Samsher Singh had received the award in 2007.

The players selected for the award will be given the award on August 29. August 29 is celebrated as National Sports Day on the occasion of Major Dhyanchand’s birthday. This year’s awards ceremony will be held online due to the coronavirus.