U Mumba Team Analysis For Pro Kabaddi Season 6

Ronnie Screwvala owned U Mumba franchise is one of the most popular franchises of the Pro Kabaddi League. U Mumba was the winner of PKL season 2 and was the runner-up in season 1 and 3. But in season 4 and 5 they have failed to maintain their standards they set in the first 3 seasons.

Unfortunately, Anup Kumar and Edachery Bhaskaran, the captain-coach duo will not be together anymore as Anup Kumar has moved to Jaipur Pink Panthers and E Bhaskaran will now be coaching the Tamil Thalaivas.

Gholamreza Mazandarani is the new coach of U Mumba for season 6 of PKL. He has coached Iran Men’s Kabaddi Team who recently won the Gold Medal at the Asian Games 2018 for the very first time.

U Mumba did not retain any player before going to the auctions. They bought Fazal Atrachali by spending a massive amount of 1 Crore. With the new coach, captain and an entire new set of players U Mumba will look to bring back its lost glamour for the past two seasons.

U Mumba has a strength of 20 players for the upcoming season of PKL.

Here is a complete analysis of the U Mumba squad :


9 raiders will be part of U Mumba in this season. Iranian raider Abolfazal Maghsodloumahali who was part of U Mumba before joining Patna Pirates in season 4 and Dabang Delhi K.C. is back with the team. He played well in last season by taking 97 points from 19 matches.

Vinod Kumar, a former ‘Pirate’ will now represent U Mumba. He scored 47 points from 21 matches in the last season. With 40 points from 16 matches, Darshan Kadian is also in the team for season 6.

Former Dabang Delhi K.C. player Rohit Baliyan will be seen playing for U Mumba in the 6th season of PKL. He has 65 raid points to his name from 17 matches. Other than this, Abhishek Singh, Arjun Deshwal, Gaurav Kumar, R. Sriram, and Siddharth Desai are also part of U Mumba’s raiding side.

U Mumba’s raiding department looks the weakest than those of the other teams in the league. There is no prime and reliable raider in the team like they use to have Anup Kumar, Rishank Devadiga in the first three seasons who were scoring the points in crucial and pressure situations also. The coach will have to set a combination of raiders who can score points consistently in order to book their spot in the playoffs.

But we will still have to wait for the league to kickoff until we get to know how the youngsters perform and handle pressure situation in the absence of their former captain Anup Kumar.


8 defenders will defend U Mumba in the upcoming season of PKL. One of the best defenders of the league having 176 tackle points from 77 matches, Dharmaraj Cheralathan will be donning the U Mumba jersey this season. He led Patna Pirates to win the title in season 4 and was part of Puneri Paltan in season 5.

Crorepati Fazel Atrachali is back in the team after a gap of 2 seasons. He has scored 152 tackle points in 56 matches. This Iranian left-corner has played a vital role in clinching the title for Patna Pirates in season 4. He played well for Gujrat Fortunegiants in season 5. His Iranian teammate Hadi Tajik is also in the team. Iranian duo is expected to recreate their magic.

Rohit Rana and Surender Singh are also in the team. Rohit Rana played from Telugu Titans and Surender Singh was with U Mumba in the previous season. The list also includes youngsters like Rajguru Subramanian, Adinath Gavali and Anil.

U Mumba defense looks stable with 8 defenders in the team.


E Subhash, Mohit Baliyan and Shiv Om are 3 all-rounders in the team. All of them are young and hence lack experience.

Close finishes in the final stages of the game requires that experience to cash in points. We will have to watch out for these youngsters when they enter the mat.

U Mumba in search of a strong defense line-up might just lack a dependable and experienced all-rounder which is must have in any team.

Youngsters will have to step out for the team. U Mumba looks a bit weak side at-least on paper. Gholamreza Mazandarani, the new coach will have to work hard with this new and young set of players to make his new team champion again.

Possible starting seven for U Mumba in initial matches of PKL Season 6:

Right Corner – Dharmaraj Cheralathan

Right In – Abolfazal Maghsodloumahali

Right Cover – Surender Singh

Center –  Abhishek Singh

Left Cover – Rohit Rana

Left In – Vinod Kumar

Left Corner – Fazel Atrachali